Recipients to Be Recognized for Achievements in Supply Chain Management At 64th Annual Salzberg Memorial Program on October 3

September 11, 2013, Syracuse, NY – The Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University today announced that Earl E. Congdon Jr., executive chairman of the board of Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc., and Kuehne + Nagel  Inc., one of the world’s leading logistics companies, will receive the 2013 Salzberg Awards for exceptional achievements in supply chain management.

Mr. Congdon will receive the Salzberg Award for his lifetime of achievement, while Kuehne + Nagel will be presented with the Salzberg Award for global supply chain management excellence.  The awards will be presented at the Whitman School of Management’s 64th annual Harry E. Salzberg Memorial Program on October 3, 2013.

Kyle O’Brien, executive vice president of sales for Norwich, N.Y.-based Chobani will be the ceremony’s keynote speaker. The Program also will include a panel discussion on The Power of Public/Private/Partnerships, moderated by Barry LePatner of LePatner & Associates, LLP, and author of Too Big to Fail: America’s Failing Infrastructure and the Way Forward.

Mr. Congdon has been with Old Dominion since the 1950 death of his father, Earl E. Congdon, Sr., who founded the company with one truck in 1934.  Over the course of his long career with the Thomasville, NC-based company, Earl E. Congdon Jr. served 45 years as chief executive officer, helping to transform Old Dominion from a small regional concern to an international, publicly traded company through geographic expansion and strategic acquisitions. Mr. Congdon has been Old Dominion’s executive chairman of the board since 2008; he is also the father of Old Dominion’s current CEO, David S. Congdon.

Named by Forbes in 2012 & 2013 as one of “America’s Top 100 Most Trustworthy Companies”, and 2013 by Fortune Magazine as one of the “World’s Fastest Growing Companies”, Old Dominion today employs more than 14,000 people and serves North America, Mexico, the Caribbean, Hawaii and China.

“Earl E. Congdon Jr. is a towering figure in American industry and The Whitman School of Management is honored to recognize his accomplishments in supply chain management with the prestigious Salzberg Award,” said Kenneth A.  Kavajecz, Dean of  The Whitman School of Management. “Under his leadership, Old Dominion has been a model of service quality and integrity for decades. The company’s growth and sterling reputation are a tribute to Earl and Old Dominion’s commitment to a quality management process that is fully integrated into the way the company operates.”

Kuehne + Nagel is one of the world’s leading logistics companies.  Its strong market position lies in the seafreight, airfreight, contract logistics and road/rail businesses, with a clear focus on providing IT-based integrated logistics solutions.  The company delivers its clients highly flexible logistics services through partnerships with leading carriers, and superior visibility of freight movements via its global information system.

Kuehne + Nagel is a financially strong, stable and independent organization.  Its strategy of offering comprehensive logistics services at uniform standards to its customers around the world is supported by 62,500 Kuehne + Nagel employees at more than 1000 locations in over 100 countries.  It is recognized worldwide as Number 1 global seafreight forwarder, Top 3 global air cargo forwarder and Top 3 global contract logistics provider.

“Kuehne +Nagel has been providing international shippers the highest levels of customer service for 123 years, making it a most worthy recipient of the 2013 Salzberg Award,”  said Frances  Gaither Tucker, chair and associate professor of marketing and supply chain at The Whitman School of Management. “The company’s strengths are customer orientation, detailed industry know-how, operational excellence and internal efficiency.  In addition, Kuehne + Nagel’s new regional structure has accelerated its response time to changing market situations and business opportunities, while its lean management approach supports a faster communication of senior-level decisions, thereby increasing efficiency even more.”

During his keynote address, Chobani executive vice president of sales Kyle O’Brien will share insights about Chobani’s rise from a start-up to a $1 billion business in just five years.  He will explore how a visionary approach to sales, distribution, supply chains and logistics have played a part in creating the No. 1 selling Greek Yogurt brand in American.  From early convictions to take the brand mainstream, to listening to instincts that appear counter-intuitive to the market, O’Brien will detail how problem-solving abilities can help tackle any challenge on a road to success.

The 64th anniversary Salzberg Memorial Program begins at 2 p.m. in the Lender Auditorium, located on the concourse level of the Whitman School of Management Building in Syracuse, NY.

Previous notable recipients of the Salzberg Award include: Michael Haverty, executive chairman, Kansas City Southern (2012); C&S Wholesale Grocers, Inc. (2011),  Dr. Yossi Sheffi, Elisha Gray II professor, MIT (2011); PepsiCo (2010); Michael Ward, CEO, CSX Transportation Inc. (2009), NIKE Inc. (2008); Richard Haupt, director of transportation & traffic department, Ford Motor Company (1987); Frederick W. Smith, Founder of FedEx (1981) and I. Sewell Morris, commander, defense traffic management service, US Department of Defense (1962).  A complete list of past recipients can be viewed here or at http://whitman/

The Salzberg Award is the oldest supply chain award in the US, created in 1949 with a gift from Murray Salzberg in honor of his father and transportation entrepreneur, Harry E. Salzberg.  The annual honor recognizes individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the fields of transportation, logistics and supply chain management. 

The Martin J. Whitman School of Management was established as the College of Business Administration in 1919 at which time it created the nation's first supply chain management program under its original charter of Traffic and Transportation. In 1920, it was only the 16th collegiate business school in the nation to be accredited by the AACSB.  That same year, a local industrialist and founder of the Franklin Automobile Company, provided an endowment for the H. H. Franklin Chaired Professorship in Transportation. Currently the SCM Program offers rigorous PhD, MBA, MS and BS degrees as well as executive education in SCM.

Recent rankings of the SCM program at Whitman include:
• US News & World Report (2012)
• Business Week (2011)
• Gartner (2011)

The Salzberg Program is a central component of the Whitman School of Management's academic programs in Supply Chain Management. These combine rigorous course experiences with exceptional opportunities for student involvement in the professional transportation, logistics and supply chain management communities - spearheading student participation in professional associations, internships, competitions, and corporate visits. The program is supported by a strong  Franklin Supply Chain Management Advisory Board.

Syracuse University’s Whitman School of Management was honored with a naming gift from Martin and Lois Whitman in 2003. The new 160,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art Whitman School of Management opened in 2005. In any given year, the Whitman School is home to nearly 2,000 graduate and undergraduate students.

 For more information, contact: Agnes H. Magnarelli, Research Center Administrator, 315-443-1383, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Subscribe to receive news:

You'll receive a confirmation email from FeedBurner to activate your subscription.