JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - March 19, 2013 - CSX today announced the 69 winners of its 19th annual Chemical Safety Excellence Awards, which recognize customers for their commitment to the safe transportation of hazardous materials by rail.

Nearly two-thirds of the 2012 recipients are repeat winners, demonstrating continued dedication to safety and a strong partnership with CSX.

"I commend all of the recipients for their ongoing dedication to the safe transportation of materials that are critical to businesses and consumers," said Michael J. Ward, CSX's chairman, president and chief executive officer. "Safety is a core value at CSX and we are proud to work with companies that share our commitment."

The Chemical Safety Excellence Awards are presented to customers who ship more than 600 carloads of hazardous materials during the year without a release due to factors such as not securing valves or closures properly. CSX and its customers work together to ensure that hazardous materials move in the safest equipment and employees are trained on safe loading and handling procedures.

At the awards ceremony, Ward talked about CSX's continued focus on strengthening customer relationships. The event also featured an expo with interactive displays highlighting CSX's safety, training and responsibility programs.

Recipients represent a variety of industries such as energy, technology and agriculture. The 2012 winners include: AkzoNobel, Inc.; Arizona Chemical Company; Arrow Reload Systems; Ascend Performance Materials, Inc.; Ashta Chemicals; Aux Sable Liquid Products LP; Axiall Corporation; Buckeye Development & Logistics;  Buffalo Lake Energy Corp.; Cardinal Ethanol LLC; Cargill; Celanese Corporation; Centennial Energy LLC; CF Industries; CHS, Inc.; Citgo Petroleum Corp.; Delaware City Refining Company; Dominion Transmission, Inc.; Dow Corning Corporation; DSM Chemicals North America; E. I. DuPont de Nemours and Company; Eastman Chemical Company; Eco Energy, Inc.; Elementis Chromium LP; ERCO Worldwide; ExxonMobil; Flint Hills Resources, LLC; Granite Falls Energy LLC; Horsehead Corporation; Huntsman International LLC; Husky Marketing & Supply Company; INEOS Nitriles; INEOS Phenol; International Chemical Co.; Kemira Water Solutions; Keyera Partnership; Linde; MarkWest Hydrocarbon; Mercuria Energy Group Ltd.; MHF Services; Military Surface and Deployment Command; Moose Jaw Refinery; Nan Ya Plastics Corporation; NGL Supply Company LTD; NOVA Chemicals; Nucor Corporation; NuStar Asphalt; Odfjell Terminals Houston; Olin ChlorAlkali; Patriot Renewable Fuels LLC; Paulsboro Refining Company; PBF Energy Company; Pembina Resources USA; Phillips 66 Company; Pioneer Trail Energy Corp.; Plains All American Pipeline; Pursue Energy; PVS Chemicals, Inc.; Reagent Chemical; Sabic Americas, Inc.; Shell Chemicals USA; Southwest Iowa Renewable Energy; Styrolution America, LLC; The Dow Chemical Company; The Mosaic Company; Toledo Refining Company; United Refining Company; and Westlake Chemical.

For the past two decades CSX has recognized customers who lead the industry in chemical safety. More information on the award, along with a list of recent recipients, can be found online at http://www.csx.com/index.cfm/customers/safety-security/chemical-safety-excellence-award/.

About CSX
CSX, based in Jacksonville, Fla., is one of the nation's leading transportation companies, providing rail, intermodal and rail-to-truck transload services. The company's transportation network spans approximately 21,000 miles, with service to 23 eastern states, the District of Columbia and two Canadian provinces. CSX's network connects more than 240 short line and regional railroads and more than 70 ocean, river, and lake ports. More information about CSX Corporation and its subsidiaries is available at www.csx.com. Like us on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/OfficialCSX) and follow us on Twitter (http://twitter.com/CSX).

Subscribe to receive news:

You'll receive a confirmation email from FeedBurner to activate your subscription.